Governance - Great River Energy

A distinct definition of success

While other types of businesses must make a profit for investors and other stakeholders, our cooperative focuses on doing what’s best for the 27 member-owner cooperatives that collectively own us.

Over time, our membership and directors may change. But our structure ensures that our shared values continue guiding everything we do.

Board of Directors meeting summaries

Senior staff

  • David Saggau, president and chief executive officer
  • Jim Jones, vice president and chief information officer
  • Michelle Strobel, vice president and chief financial officer
  • Jon Brekke, vice president and chief power supply officer
  • Priti Patel, vice president and chief transmission officer
  • Louy Theeuwen, chief of staff
  • Lisa Orpen, vice president and chief corporate and member services officer
  • Eric Olsen, vice president and general counsel

Board of Directors

  • Chair Bob Bruckbauer,
    Lake County Power
  • Vice Chair Margaret Schreiner,
    Dakota Electric Association
  • Treasurer Lee York,
    Nobles Cooperative Electric
  • Secretary Audrey Hjelle,
    Runestone Electric Association
  • Mike Littfin,
    Arrowhead Electric Cooperative
  • Gary Stenzel,
    BENCO Electric Cooperative
  • Bill Berg, Brown County Rural Electrical Association
  • Scott Veitenheimer,
    Cooperative Light & Power
  • Clay Van De Bogart,
    Dakota Electric Association
  • Linda Laitala,
    East Center Energy
  • Lonnie, Johnson, East Central Energy
  • David Hernke, Goodhue County Cooperative Electric Association
  • Nancy Utke, Itasca-Mantrap Cooperative Electrical Association
  • Dale Anderson,
    Kandiyohi Power Cooperative
  • Craig Olson,
    Lake Country Power
  • Mike Brasel, Lake Region Electric Cooperative
  • Randy Hlavka, McLeod Cooperative Power Association
  • Harold Harms, Mille Lacs Electric Cooperative
  • Lloyd Kongsjord, North Itasca Electric Cooperative, Inc.
  • Greg Blaine, Stearns Cooperative Electric Association
  • Gary Wilson, Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric
  • Mike Thorson, Todd-Wadena Electrical Cooperative
  • Erick Heinz, Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association

Annual sustainability report

Still have questions about cooperative governance?


Social impact

How our community support reaches beyond providing electricity.