Two co-ops announce new leadership - Great River Energy

Two co-ops announce new leadership

Two of Great River Energy’s member-owner cooperatives recently announced who will take the helm as their new chief executive officers.

Ryan Hentges

Ryan Hentges will be the next president and CEO at Dakota Electric Association, based in Farmington, Minnesota. Matt O’Shea has already begun serving as CEO of Stearns Electric Association, based in Melrose, Minnesota.

Hentges comes to Dakota Electric from another of Great River Energy’s member-owners, Minnesota Valley Electric Cooperative, where he served in management since 2005 and the last seven years as CEO. Current Dakota Electric President and CEO Greg Miller, who has led the cooperative since 2001, will retire in early April. Hentges will join Dakota Electric on March 6 to provide overlap of leadership and a smooth transition.

“We believe Ryan has the proven track record and leadership qualities necessary to ensure Dakota Electric continues providing our members with exceptional and reliable service,” said Paul Bakken, Dakota Electric board chair.

Matt O’Shea

The Stearns Electric board of directors chose O’Shea to lead the cooperative into the future following an extensive nationwide search. O’Shea has more than 18 years of experience in the utility industry, seven of those with Stearns Electric and the last three as its vice president of engineering and operations.

“I’m familiar with the expectations and needs of our Central Minnesota member-consumers. Bringing safe, affordable and reliable electricity to our members is a top priority as this allows families, businesses and communities to prosper,” O’Shea said. “As the energy industry changes, we will continue to build on the solid foundation the cooperative has established and propel forward in a new era of innovation and continual growth.”

Featured initiatives
" data-object-fit="cover">

Great River Energy and member-owners pursue federal funding

Full article
" data-object-fit="cover">

Great River Energy doubles commitment to pollinator-friendly habitat restoration

Full article