Governor recognizes member-owners for commitment to safety, health - Great River Energy

Governor recognizes member-owners for commitment to safety, health

Several of Great River Energy’s member-owner cooperatives were recently recognized for excellence in workplace safety and health during the 2022 Minnesota Safety and Health Conference. The cooperatives are among 191 employers to be honored through the award program, which is coordinated by the Minnesota Safety Council.

Cooperative Light & Power Member Services Manager Ken Jones (center) received the co-op’s Award of Honor from Steve Sandilla, chair of the Minnesota Safety Council’s board of directors, and Commissioner Roslyn Robertson of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.

“During a time that has challenged all of us in many ways, we are honored to recognize these cooperatives for their awards,” said Paul Aasen, president of the Minnesota Safety Council. “Congratulations to them for helping to make life safer inside their organizations and beyond.”

The annual Governor’s Safety Awards has honored Minnesota employers with exceptional safety performance since 1934. Applicants are judged on several years of injury data as it compares with their industry’s national statistics and on their progress in implementing a comprehensive safety program.

Winners are recognized on three levels:

  • Meritorious Achievement (68 winners): Incidence rates that are better than the industry average for at least three years and a score between 50 and 74 on 100-point safety program evaluation scale.
  • Outstanding Achievement (83 winners): Continuing improvement and/or a continuing outstanding record with incident rates that are 51% to 90% better than the industry average and a score between 75 and 90 on the safety program evaluation scale.
  • Award of Honor (40 winners): Incidence rates at least 91% better than the industry average and a score between 91 and 100 on the safety program evaluation scale.

Cooperative Light & Power (Two Harbors) and Todd-Wadena Electric Cooperative (Wadena) earned Award of Honors; Goodhue County Cooperative Electric Association (Zumbrota) won an Outstanding Achievement award; and Meeker Cooperative (Litchfield) was recognized with a Meritorious Achievement.

The Minnesota Safety Council, founded in 1928, is a non-governmental, not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of life in Minnesota by preventing unintentional injuries on the road, at work, at home and in the community.

Featured initiatives
" data-object-fit="cover">

Great River Energy and member-owners pursue federal funding

Full article
" data-object-fit="cover">

Great River Energy doubles commitment to pollinator-friendly habitat restoration

Full article